Margerine Eclipse


Cat No: D-UHF-D29RC

A1. Vonal Declosion
A2. Need To Be
A3. Sudden Stars

B1. Cosmic Country Noir
B2. La Demeure
B3. Margerine Rock

C1. The Man With 100 Cells
C2. Margerine Melodie
C3. Hillbilly Motorbike

D1. Feel And Triple
D2. Bop Scotch
D3. Dear Marge

E1. Mass Riff
E2. Good Is Me
E3. Microclimate
E4. Mass Riff Instrumental

F1. Jaunty Monty And The Bubbles Of Silence
F2. Banana Monster Ne RĂ©pond Plus
F3. University Microfilms International
F4. Rose, My Rocket-Brain! (Rose, Le Cerveau Electronique De Ma Fusée!)

Remastered from original tapes. Bonus album of unreleased demos. Co-released by band’s own label Duophonic UHF Disks and Warp Records.

Stereolab’s first full-length recording without guitarist / vocalist Mary Hansen, who died in a tragic accident in december of 2002, Margerine Eclipse finds the band soldiering on in admirable fashion. Essentially picking up where they left off on 2001’s Sound-Dust, the group continues to employ their trademark blend of vintage keyboards, airy french / english vocals, and frothy lounge-meets-electronica pop sensibilities. That’s not to say that there absolutely no new developments; one can hear the occasional dash of hip-hop rhythm (La Demeure), Autechre-like laptop glitch-pop (Vonal Declosion), and even a bit of disco (at the end of album-closer Dear Marge) amid the familiarly odd time signatures, quirky socio-political lyrical observations, and postmodern retro-futurism. Most importantly, though, Stereolab’s finely tuned knack for interesting arrangements, arresting timbres, and modestly elegant melodies remains unsullied.


New Releases




Record Label

Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist