Manchester Calling

Paul Heaton + Jacqui Abbott

Cat No: V3241

1 The Only Exercise I Get Is You
2 If You Could See Your Faults
3 Somebody’s Superhero
4 Big News In A Little World
5 You And Me (Were Meant To Be Together)
6 The Outskirts Of The Dancefloor
7 So Happy
8 A Good Day Is Hard To Find
9 Fat Of The Land
10 All Of My Friends
11 The Prison
12 House Party 2
13 He’s Got What I Had
14 New York Ivy
15 MCR Calling
16 My Legal High

‘Manchester Calling’ boasts all the hallmarks of Heaton’s beautifully bittersweet songwriting – effortlessly catchy melodies allied with an everyman’s biting exasperation at the modern world alongside some truly heartfelt love songs.

Produced by long time collaborator John Williams who produced both Housemartins albums and the previous three Paul Heaton & Jacqui Abbott albums – ‘What Have We Become’ (’14), ‘Wisdom, Laughter & Lines’ (’15), and ‘Crooked Calypso’ (’17) – the record was recorded at Blueprint Studios in Salford, Manchester. As is Paul Heaton’s habit the lyrics were written in various locations in North Holland and Belgium while the music was composed in a hotel in Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria and in Limburg An Der Lahn in Germany.

Says Paul: “I’ve lived in Manchester for 17 years now and recording an album here for the first time, was looking forward to cycling to work. That was never possible as Manchester is now being turned into a business centre for the rich, which I can’t stand. If there’s a theme to the record, it’s anti growth, anti greed, against the continuous tearing down of old buildings and sticking up soulless offices, and the disappearance of local accents on TV, along with the creeping spread of Americanese. So, some curmudgeonly moans, plus some hopefully uplifting love songs. Originally it was set up to be a double LP like ‘London Calling’ but alas the double album has also become a victim of time.”

Says Jacqui: “I’m so pleased and excited about the new album, it was wonderful to work on new songs and even more so that we did double what we have done for the last few records. It’ll be a joy to see others react to something we took such pleasure out of making.”


New Releases





Record Label

Virgin EMI Records
Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist