Balance, Not Symmetry (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack)

Biffy Clyro

Cat No: 0190295460822

1. ‘Balance, Not Symmetry’
2. ‘All Singing and All Dancing’
3. ‘Different Kind of Love’
4. ‘Sunrise’
5. ‘Pink’
6. ‘Colour Wheel’
7. ‘Gates of Heaven’
8. ‘Fever Dream’
9. ‘Navy Blue’
10. ‘Tunnels and Trees’
11. ‘Plead’
12. ‘The Naturals’
13. ‘Yellow’
14. ‘Touch’
15. ‘Jasabiab’
16. ‘Following Master’
17. ‘Adored’

Biffy Clyro share a soundtrack album of original material called ‘Balance, Not Symmetry’, written for the film of the same name, which frontman Simon Neil collaborated on with director Jamie Adams.

Regarding the collaboration, Simon Neil explains “On meeting Jamie, we realised early on that we’d both had to deal with grief at a relatively young age and so it was interesting to talk about how we’d both dealt with it and the effect it had on us – and this is the main crux of the film, delving into the lonely world of grief and loss and coming out the other side.”

The 17-song ‘Balance, Not Symmetry’ explodes into life with the title track, which tightly packages Biffy’s angular rhythms with the kind of sky-bound hook that they’ve established as a hallmark of their sound. The track is accompanied by an official video. Also directed by Adams, it intercuts the band’s visceral live performance with footage from the film.

While the collection often explores Biffy’s gift for arena-filling anthems on the likes of ‘All Singing and All Dancing’, ‘Tunnel and Trees’ and ‘Touch’, the album as a whole leans towards introspection and experimentation. The foreboding yet elegiac ‘Gates Of Heaven’ is quite unlike anything that the band have recorded before, ‘Colour Wheel’ switches to a more ethereal ambience and ‘Touch’ echoes the emotional power of previous Biffy classics such as ‘Many Of Horror’ and ‘Re-arrange’.

The album also includes three mood-setting instrumentals (‘Pink’, ‘Navy Blue’ and ‘Yellow’) plus a studio recording of ‘Different Kind of Love’, which originally featured on last year’s ‘MTV Unplugged’ album. It was co-produced by Adam Noble and Biffy Clyro, and recorded at AIR Studios, Monnow Valley Studio and ICP Studios.


New Releases




Record Label



Add to Wishlist
Add to Wishlist

Global Shipping on this item.

In stock items are usually dispatched within 24 hours.